Skip to main content
Iowa Lakes Community College
Main Content

I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award

I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award Program

The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and Kemen Industries have joined together to honor teachers who are inspiring Iowa’s students to develop a passion for STEM subjects. This award is for teachers who are making a significant difference in the lives of students across the state by providing excellent curriculum, encouraging lifelong learning and inspiring a passion for STEM beyond the classroom and into the future.

The I.O.W.A. Teacher of the Year Award honors one teacher from each of the six stem regions for their contribution and dedication to STEM education in Iowa. Each awardee receives $1,500, as well as another $1,500 for their classroom.

2020 Awardee
Matt Hansen, Industrial Technology
MMCRU High School, Marcus
Matt Hansen

2019 Awardee
JoAnne Sackett, Tag/Explore Lab Stem Teacher
Okoboji Elementary, Milford
JoAnne Sackett

2018 Awardee
Jacquie Drey, Fourth Grade
Storm Lake Elementary, Storm Lake
2018 NW STEM Award Winner - Jacquie Drey

2017 Awardee
Keith Juelfs, Fifth Grade
Morningside Elementary STEM School, Sioux City
Kevin Juelfs

2016 Awardee
Kent Muyskens, Chemistry
Carroll High School, Carroll
Kent Muyskens

2015 Awardee
Mike Wedge, Science Teacher/STEM Coordinator
Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, Sibley
Mike Wedge


© 2021 Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.