Skip to main content
Iowa Lakes Community College
Main Content

2016 NW STEM Recipient

2016 NW STEM Award Winner - Kent Muyskens, Carroll CSD


Kent Muyskens

Congratulations to Kent Muyskens for being selected for the I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award for the NW STEM Region!

Mr. Muyskens, chemistry teacher at Carroll High School, was recognized due to his exceptional dedication towards increasing student interest and achievement in STEM fields and careers in innovative and outstanding ways.

Nominations for Mr. Muyskens came from colleagues who praised him for his hard work and innovation in STEM. They explained his work with the community, the implementation of innovative instructional methods, and his commitment to students. Mr. Muyskens was also praised for his work with Project Lead the Way, his STEM RLE award from the STEM Council, writing new curriculum and taking students to NASA.   

On the evening of Monday, April 18, 2016, Mr. Muyskens and the other regional awardees attended the I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Awards Ceremony at Terrace Hill. "We are extremely appreciative of STEM teachers in Iowa. This award is just one of the ways we enjoy honoring the hard work and dedication of exceptional teachers in our state," stated Kemin Industries President and CEO, Dr. Chris Nelson, STEM Council Co-chair. "These teachers deserve recognition for preparing today's students to become tomorrow's workforce, which includes an abundance of STEM opportunities."

Kent Muysken, I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award:

For a list of recipients state-wide: 2016 State I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award Recipients

© 2020 Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.