Skip to main content
Iowa Lakes Community College
Main Content

I.O.W.A Teacher of the Year

2018 NW STEM Award Winner - Jacquie Drey

2018 NW STEM Award Winner - Jacquie Drey

The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and Kemin Industries have announced the recipients of the 2018 I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award sponsored by Kemin Industries. 

The Northwest STEM region’s honoree is Jacquie Drey, a 4th grade teacher at Storm Lake Elementary School. Ms. Drey believes that science is more than a school subject. She has integrated STEM learning into her classroom and paved the way for creating a lifelong interest in STEM fields. She has put together several in-school and after-school STEM events at Storm Lake Elementary, including the Science Olympiad Family Fun Night (culminating from her work with Every Learner Inquires with the Iowa Dept. of Education), a 4th Grade Science Olympiad Day and another 4th Grade Science Olympiad Day NASA Style. Ms. Drey was a participant in the Iowa Space Grant Consortium, along with ten other Iowan teachers, at the Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, AL in February of 2017. The purpose of this experience was to connect schools to learning opportunities that move the NASA mission forward and increase the awareness of STEM careers. Ms. Drey uses social media feeds and pages to connect with the parents of her students and continue her students’ STEM learning at home. She has also brought in science leaders to her school, regularly attends professional learning events regarding new Iowa Science Standards, and is a Storm Lake district science leader as the elementary representative.

This award recognizes and celebrates one teacher from each of the six STEM regions who goes above and beyond to increase their student’s interest in STEM. Each recipient is recognized for their dedication in representing I.O.W.A.; by being Innovative in their methods, Outstanding in their passion for education, Worldly in the way they help students see that STEM is all around them, and Academic through engaging students in the classroom to prepare them for higher education and high-demand careers. Each recipient was selected by a panel of judges after being nominated for the award by a colleague, school administrator, parent, student or community member and completing an application showcasing their contributions to STEM education. Each recipient will receive $1,500 for personal use and another $1,500 for their classroom.

Drey and the other five recipients have each been honored with ceremonies in their classrooms with their students and peers, and will also be recognized together at STEM Day at the Capitol, with Gov. and STEM Council Co-Chair Kim Reynolds and a representative from Kemin Industries the morning of Wednesday, February 14th. For more information about the award and all current and previous recipients, please visit

© 2020 Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.