Skip to main content
Iowa Lakes Community College
Main Content
More In This Section

4 Iowa Lakes students earn All Iowa Academic Team honors

March 14, 2017

Four Iowa Lakes Community College students have achieved All Iowa Academic Team status for the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement.

These students were honored at a banquet hosted by Northeast Iowa Community College at the Embassy Suites in Des Moines on March 1. Keynote speaker was Lynn Tincher-Ladner, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer of Phi Theta Kappa.  

Students recognized from Iowa Lakes Community College included:
  • Courtney Calkins, a liberal arts major from Osseo, Minnesota. Her accomplishments include First Team Academic All-Region (2015–2016), Pinnacle Academic Achievement Award Recipient, and president’s honors list. She serves as the Estherville campus student senate president, as well as being a member of the Laker softball team.
  • Nicholas W. Grandstaff, an economics transfer major from Emmetsburg, who also attends the Estherville campus. Nick’s honors include cross country team captain, All-Region Academic Team and the president’s honors list. He was a participant in summer 2016 in a Borlaug-Ruan Internship connected to the World Food Prize at M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation in Chennai, India, concentrating on sustainable agriculture and rural development. He plans on transferring to the University of Iowa.
  • Micheal E. Krogh, an elementary education transfer student from Spencer. He is a co-president of Beta Eta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a student senate member and made the dean’s list. He is attending the Spencer campus and is transferring to Buena Vista University.
  • Cammy L. Trierweiler, Spencer campus liberal arts/education transfer major, is co-president of Beta Eta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. She also made both the dean’s list and the president’s honors list. She is transferring to Buena Vista University.
Students awarded this honor have opportunities to qualify for additional scholarships at their transfer institutions.
Others attending the dinner from Iowa Lakes included college President Valerie Newhouse, Professor and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Abi Sedlacek, Mary Faber, director of the Spencer and Spirit Lake campuses, and family members of the recipients.  
Iowa Lakes Community College students receive All Iowa Academic Team honors in Des Moines. From left, those present included Valerie Newhouse, Iowa Lakes Community College president; students Nicholas Grandstaff of the Estherville campus, Micheal Krogh of the Spencer campus and Cammy Trierweiler of the Spencer campus; and Abi Sedlacek, Phi Theta Kappa advisor.

For More Information:

Abi Sedlacek at 712-580-8637.

« Back

© 2019 Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.