Skip to main content
Iowa Lakes Community College
Main Content

Adult Education & Literacy Program

“Your Fresh Start Begins Now!!”

The Adult Education & Literacy Program (AEL) at Iowa Lakes Community College is a program solely for adult learners. These include:

  1. Adults who have not received a high school diploma.
  2. Non-English proficient adults wishing to improve their listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills. 

The AEL Program is comprised of three areas of instruction: 

  1. Adult Basic Education (ABE – eighth grade and lower academic level) 
  2. High School Equivalency Diploma (HSED – high school academic level)
  3. English as a Second Language (ESL – adults who would like to improve their English skills. 

Anyone 16 years and 9 months of age or older can attend AEL classes. Students who are of high school age, must complete a Request for Admission to Test/Age Waiver for High School Equivalency Diploma Form. This document requires signatures from the student, their parent, and the school district’s administrator and verifies the student is not enrolled at the high school. This form must be completed and returned prior to any pre-assessment testing and enrollment into the AEL Program. No one can be enrolled in both the AEL Program and high school at the same time.

Through instruction, our students transition to higher levels of education to successfully complete their goals. Students are able to transition to the next level of instruction (example: from Beginning I ESL to Advanced ESL), or complete their High School Equivalency Diploma requirements. 

By focusing on skill attainment and providing partner services that remove barriers to success, our students can concentrate on their immediate and future educational and/or employment goals. Academic understanding is of utmost importance, therefore, students are allowed to take as many classes as necessary to obtain a deep understanding of the material.

AEL services are located on all five campuses of Iowa Lakes; Algona, Emmetsburg, Estherville, Spencer, and Spirit Lake. Classes for ESL, ABE, and HSED are held at all five campuses at various dates and times throughout the year.  

***Classes are FREE to all Adult Education & Literacy students.***

***The state of Iowa uses ETS/HiSET® (High School Testing Service) as our testing service for students wishing to receive their High School Equivalency Diploma (HSED) – formerly known as GED®. Upon successful completion of all five HiSET® exams, each student will receive a High School Diploma. This credential is issued through the Iowa Department of Education.*** 





© 2018 Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.