My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes

Iowa Lakes Soccer Players Receive Year-end Awards

December 27, 2012

Student-Athletes on the Iowa Lakes Men’s and Women’s Soccer teams recently received awards at a year-end gathering at Legends Events and Social Center.
A total of 13 players were honored.  
This was the second year of coaching the Lakers for Coach Ammon Bennett and Assistant Coach Sheena Van Roekel.  This is the first year for Graduate Assistant Kyle King.  Some awards were based on player input; while others were decided upon by the coaches.
This was the second year in a row that the Women’s squad has had a winning season.  The Laker Women ended with an overall record of 15 wins and six losses.
“The team had a memorable season setting several college records,” said Coach Bennett.  “The season concluded with the Lakers playing for the Region Championship.”
The coach is looking forward to the future.
“Iowa Lakes will look to continue to build on this success with several key players returning for the 2013 season,” Coach Bennett said.  
For the Women, the two ‘Coaches’ awards went to Tarah Hunt of Orange City and Brittney Valentine of Layton, Utah.
A pair of ‘Most Improved’ awards were given to Dania Rodriguez of Salt Lake City, Utah, and Danielle Bills of West Jordan, Utah.
Receiving the ‘Defensive MVP’ was Natasha Lichfield of Corinne, Utah. Brooke Saxton of North Ogden, Utah, took the ‘Offensive MVP’ honor.  
The overall ‘Team MVP’ award was given to Elizabeth Rasmussen of Farmington, Utah.
It was a tougher season for the men.
“The Iowa Lakes Men’s team struggled to a 7-15 record, but did enjoy a four-game win streak during the season,” said Coach Bennett.  “The Men’s team will be looking to add several players for the 2013 season and does return several key players.”
On the Men’s side, three ‘Coaches’ awards were distributed.  They went to Richard Nolasco of Ogden, Utah; Aristides Mejia of West Valley City, Utah; and Jared Rowell of Millville, Utah.   Rowell also took home the ‘Most Improved Player’ honor.
For the MVP awards, Rodrigo Galvan of West Jordan, Utah, took ‘Defensive MVP’; Peter Funaro of Sandy, Utah, was named ‘Offensive MVP’; and the overall ‘Team MVP’ award went to Erick Browne of Dublin, Ireland.
During the evening, those students completing their second year at Iowa Lakes received medals.  
Women who completed two seasons with the Lakers include Valentine and Lichfield, who received awards mentioned above, as well as Jill Brockbant of West Jordan, Utah; Dani Huston of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Selena Ramos of Brigham City, Utah; and Cortnee Sanchez of Brigham City, Utah.
Men who played for two seasons include Tanner Collins of Hyrum, Utah, and Dillan Mathys of Providence, Utah.  Receiving two-year honors in addition to awards listed above were Meija and Rowell.
Anyone wishing to learn more about the Iowa Lakes Soccer program may contact either Coach Ammon Bennett at 712-580-8609 or Assistant Coach Van Roekel at 712-580-8640. 
For More Information:

Iowa Lakes marketing office at 712-362-7947

Questions or comments? Please email us at or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2017 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.