My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes

Iowa Lakes Men’s Basketball Prepares for 2012-1013 Season

October 31, 2012

The Iowa Lakes Community College Men’s Basketball team is preparing for the 2012- 2013 season under Head Coach Troy Larson.  Larson, who enters his 6th season at the helm, has an overall record of 96 wins and 59 losses.   
“Our players have been working hard in practice and have shown a willingness to learn,” he said.  “As always are goals are to continue to improve as a team and to reach our full potential which would allow us to be very competitive in the region.”
The Lakers return two sophomores in Kevin Larsen (New Ulm, MN) and Josh Schaben (Harlan, IA).  Both had productive first seasons in Laker uniforms.
Transfer sophomores include Quincy King – Des Moines Area community College, Kelly Madison – Minnesota State University, and Mark Medima – Northwestern College.  
“All of our sophomores have been providing good leadership and collectively are a talented group,” commented Larson.  
Freshman looking to contribute include Tate Harmon – Waterville, MN, Darian Johnson – Minneapolis, MN, Colton Neff - Salt Lake City, UT, DreOndre Parks – Flint, MI, and Ben Shellim – Melbourne, Australia.  
“The freshman are attempting to figure out college basketball and how hard they have to play on a daily basis,” noted Larson.
The Laker Men’s Basketball schedule is extremely competitive as in prior years.  Twenty Nine regular season contests include 16 at home, 12 road, and 1 neutral site game.  Highlights of the schedule include NJCAA division 1 games against Iowa Western, Marshalltown, Northeast Nebraska, and Southeastern and fourteen highly competitive Iowa Community College Athletic Conference Division II games round out the schedule.  
Click here to view the 2012-2013 Men's Basketball roster:
Click here to view the 2012-2013 Men's Basketball schedule:
For More Information:

Troy Larson
Head Coach Men's Basketball

Questions or comments? Please email us at or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2017 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.