My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes

Iowa Lakes has 56 Spring Semester Academic All-Region Performers

June 24, 2014

In the spring semester, Iowa Lakes had 56 student-athletes earn Academic All-Region; 21 of them earning first team and 35 second team. 

Athletic Director Troy Larson is thrilled with the performances of each of these Laker participants. 

"Very proud of our student athletes and their work in the classroom.  Having 56 academic All-Region performers for the spring semester is outstanding," Larson stated.  "Our coaches have done a great job recruiting high character young men and women who understand the importance of academics as well as getting their degrees.  They are true Student-Athletes."

Of the 56 total athletes that were honored for the spring semester; 13 were baseball, 10 softball, 13 swimming and diving, 3 golf, 2 wrestling, 8 women's basketball, and 7 men's basketball.  To earn first team honors the student must have a 3.5 GPA or above and to receive second team honors you must have between 3.0 and 3.49 for the semester.  

Here is a list of the Lakers that earned first team Academic All-Region and their respective sports; baseball- Sean Alp, Matt Vasquez, Andrew Sandstrom, Austin Orvis and Elvin Nunez; softball- Kristi Larson, Jamison Bascom, Jessica Abrahamson, Jordyn Derflinger, Heaven Coughlin and Kimberly Frank; swimming and diving- Ashley Novak, Hannah Priest, Sierra Sampson, Tyler Halligan and Jorgen Johnson; golf- Austin Sweeney; women's basketball- Leah Courtney, Macy Dahl and Carly Gilliland; men's basketball- Tate Harmon. 

Here are the Lakers that earned second team Academic All-Region; baseball- Michael De Los Santos, Patrick Gough, Tanner Johnson, Matt Woods, Kris Johnson, Mitchell Egan, Luis Gonzalez and Alex Crisobal; softball- Sierra Gudvangen, Marley Tolbert, Tarah Hunt and Cristina Tendal; swimming and diving- Roneyce Jonas, Cheyenne Rova, Jordan Stiggers, Kayla Tomasek Hannah White, David Bishop, Stefan Dewey and Dmitrijs Suhusins; golf- Tressa DeBoer and Cassandra Galm; wrestling- Michael Weza and Freddie Rodriguez; women's basketball- Natasha Kindred, Sobrina West, Alissa Johnson, Shabreka Edwards and Taylor Boroson; men's basketball- Parker Bailey, Diamontae McKinley, Vasileios Makris, Colton Neff, Rashad Fox and Deondre Parks. 

In the fall Iowa Lakes had 27 athletes earn the same honors; men's soccer- 1 first team, 2 second team; women's soccer- 9 first team, 4 second team; volleyball- 6 first team, 2 second team; women's cross country- 1 first team; and men's cross country- 2 second team.  

For More Information:

Athletic Director Troy Larson at 712-362- 7907

Questions or comments? Please email us at or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2017 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.