My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes

Deondre Parks Named First Team All-American

May 14, 2014

Deondre ParksThe 6-foot-3 freshman guard, Deondre Parks from Flint, Michigan, was a first team All-American selection for NJCAA Division II.  Averaging 20.4 points, 5.2 rebounds and 3 assists per game for the Lakers during the 2013-14 season.

“What a tremendous accomplishment for Deondre,” said Iowa Lakes Head Coach Troy Larson, whose team was 23-9 this season.  “He has worked extremely hard in his two years here and has bought into the Iowa Lakes way.” 

“It's a great honor and outstanding way to wrap up his two year career.  He has given his heart and soul to our program and I couldn't be more proud of him.”

Parks, who was named a 3rd team All American last season after averaging 15 points, 5 rebounds and 2.5 assists during his freshman campaign, is the first two time All American in school history and the third first team selection joining Troy Larson (1993) and Tory Meiborg (1995).

As a Laker, Deondre appeared in 66 games starting all of them averaging 18 points, 5 rebounds, and 2.5 assists per game and helped lead the Lakers to a 49-15 record.  He ranks 6th all-time in Laker scoring history scoring 1,175 points.  

Parks will continue his academic and playing career at Division I South Dakota State University in the fall. 

Parks’ season highs

Points – 44 vs. Indian Hills (Nov. 26)
Rebounds – 11 vs. Iowa Central (Feb. 8)
Assists – 6 vs. Northeast (Nov. 8)
Steals – 3, three games

NJCAA Division II All-Americans

First team – Devin Pearson (North Arkansas): Malik Albert (Mott Community); Brandon Brown (Phoenix College); Marvin Crawford (Raritan Valley); Tyron Criswell (Central Community- Columbus); Nehemian Fischer (Beaver County); Winston Grays (Cincinnati State Tech); Antonio Levy (South Suburban); Joshua Mellette (Wake Tech); Deondre Parks (Iowa Lakes); Tarrence Tisdell (John Wood).

Second team – Nicholas Dixon (Morton College); Lee Gardner (Glen Oaks); Frank Holloway JR. (Garrett College); Darerraul Jackson (Wayne County); Tyreek Jewell (Jamestown); Patrick Jones (Johnson County); Ronald March (Glendale); Brandon Nazione (DMACC); Joshua Roberts (Southeast); Dion Rogers (Essex County).

Third team – JaQuan Blount (Pitt); Tashawn Desir (Monroe); Bikramjit Gill (Owens); Marcus Graham (Lincoln Land); Christopher Green (Massasoit); David Humphries (NIACC); Randy Reed (St. Louis); Aaron Simpson (Lincoln College); Rico Spikes (Brown Mackie); Larry Woody (Delaware Tech-Stanton).

For More Information:

Head Coach Troy Larson at 712-362-7915

Questions or comments? Please email us at or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2016 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.