My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes
 
 

Veteran Benefits

 
 
 


At Iowa Lakes Community College we are committed to showing our appreciation for your service to our country.  In addition to providing you top-notch information and assistance regarding your veteran’s educational benefits (see drop-down on left) we have formed a Veterans’ Committee to be certain we are responsive to the needs of our veteran and military students.  Some of the initiatives this committee has spearheaded includes:

 
  • Ease of access to the webpage you’re viewing... one click and you’ll find the information you need!
  • Special events and remembrances throughout the college year to include: 9/11 ceremonies; Veterans Day events (complimentary meals, Honor Trees, Honor Roll of veterans on signage, Student Senate led ceremonies, etc.); Pearl Harbor Day remembrance; Memorial Day and 4th of July recognition.
  • Staff/Faculty Veteran Mentors for every campus.
  • Partnering with community Veteran Service Officers, providing ease of access to information and local services. (See local service links on right panel of this page.)  
  • Complimentary services available at the Smith Wellness Center in Emmetsburg for dependents of student veterans.
  • Currently forming peer-led Veterans’ Clubs (monthly meet and greets for social support and information sharing).
  • And more!  Check out our latest press releases.

If you’d like more information, or have questions not answered on this page, please feel free to contact our military friendly staff: V.A. Certifying Official Dawn Hoffman at dhoffman@iowalakes.edu or Financial Aid Director/V.A. Administrator Steve Pelzer at spelzer@iowalakes.edu.

For more information please contact the Veterans Education Office at the Emmetsburg Campus:

Dawn Hoffman
712-852-5245
800-242-5108, ext. 5245
Fax: 712-852-5298

email: dhoffman@iowalakes.edu

Other Helpful Resources:

County Veteran Service Officers:

Clay County
Joan Waller
jwaller@co.clay.ia.us
712-262-5547

Dickinson County
Ann Miller
amiller@co.dickinson.ia.us
712-336-08833

Emmet County
Deb Tietje
dtietje@emmetcountyia.com
712-362-7431 

Kossuth County
Vicki Briggs
vbriggs@co.kossuth.ia.us
515-295-9036

Palo Alto County
Cliff Christensen
cchristensen@co.palo-alto.ia.us
712-852-2404

Other Iowa Counties
www.va.iowa.gov/counties/index.html

Further information:

Iowa VA Home Page

Questions or comments? Please email us at info@iowalakes.edu or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2014 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.