My Iowa LakesLive ChatGive to Iowa Lakes

Nov 30, 2015: Due to inclement weather, all daytime and evening classes (credit and continuing education) at all campuses will be cancelled today. All offices will be closed.


Scholarship Opportunities


Apply for the following scholarships on our online Scholarship Application:

H.G. Albee Memorial Journalism/Photography Scholarship
The H.G. Albee Memorial Scholarship has benefitted many Iowa Lakes Community College students since 1975.  Albee, a former Estherville area resident, left his trust to the care of the Iowa Lakes Scholarship Foundation to administer for the betterment of the college and its students.  Requirement is full-time enrollment in Journalism and Photography program at the Estherville campus.  Award amount varies and must be used for tuition, books or fees.

Ivan and Janet Brown "Just Say Yes"
The Ivan and Janet Brown "Just Say Yes" Scholarship was established in 2007 by Ivan and Janet Brown along with Brown Medical Industries in Spirit Lake. The Browns wish to encourage students who graduate with GED or alternative high school diplomas to "Just Say Yes" to continuing their education at Iowa Lakes. Requirements include full time enrollment, minimum cumulative 2.5 GPA and financial need determined by FAFSA form results. Award is $500 to be used for tuition, books or fees.

Jim and Kay Billings Scholarship
The Jim and Kay Billings Scholarship was established by Iowa Lakes Community College employees in 1999 to honor former President Jim Billings. Requirement is financial need determined by FAFSA form results. Award amount varies and must be used for tuition, books or fees.

Mary and Gene Allbaugh Memorial Scholarship
The Allbaugh children, Suzanne, John and Kathy, who lived in Emmetsburg and graduated from public schools there, established the Mary and Gene Albaugh Memorial Scholarship in 2004. This $700 annual scholarship is intended to reinvest in the education of citizens served by Iowa Lakes Community College. The Allbaughs established the Emmetsburg radio station and were instrumental in bringing cable television and the Iowa Lakes Emmetsburg campus to town. Requirements include full time enrollment and minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Award may be used for tuition, books, or fees.

PEO Chapter AY – for Estherville students
Since 2005 Iowa Lakes has administered this scholarship established by P.E.O., a philanthropic and educational organization founded in 1869. Its interests include bringing increased opportunities for higher education to women. The Estherville chapter, AY, was established in 1896 and offers this scholarship to graduating senior women from the Estherville Lincoln Central school district. Eligible applicants must be planning to attend the Estherville campus of Iowa Lakes and rank in the top 50 percent of their high school graduating class. High consideration will be given to applicants demonstrating positive character and a commitment to community service. Applicants should indicate in their personal summary any honors, special recognitions and extracurricular involvement while in high school.

Poker Ride Scholarship – for students in the five-county area
The Poker Ride Scholarship was created in 2003 as a result of the Iowa Lakes Community College Foundation Scholarship Motorcycle Poker Ride event. Funds are raised through rider donations and support of local businesses. Applicants must be permanent residents of Emmet, Clay, Dickinson, Kossuth or Palo Alto counties.

Presidential AS and Career Option Scholarship – for on-campus students
The Presidential Scholarship is an academic ability award ranging from 60-100% tuition depending on qualifications.  High school transcript including class rank, GPA and ACT score must be sent to the Admissions Office by May 1.  Applicants must meet at least two of the necessary qualifications. This scholarship is for on-campus students.

Raymond Hasbrook Memorial
Prior to her death, Irma M. Hasbrook of Estherville established the Raymond Hasbrook Memorial Scholarship in 2003 in memory of her husband. The funds from this endowed scholarship will award several graduating high school seniors who display financial need determined by the FAFSA form results.

River Valley Telecommunications Coop
In 2000, the River Valley Telecommunications Coop Scholarship was established to be awarded to graduating seniors who are permanent residents in the Graettinger, Ruthven or Wallingford telephone exchange (859, 837 or 867 phone prefix). Qualified candidates must possess and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5.

Stanley O. and Alma Young
The Stanley O. and Alma Young Scholarship was established in 1998 for permanent residents of Armstrong, Estherville, Graettinger, Gruver or Wallingford. Applicants must display financial need determined by the FAFSA form results.

Student Support Services
The Student Support Services Scholarship has been established for active Student Support Services participants displaying focus and commitment toward completion of their academic goals at Iowa Lakes. The award is available each semester for students who demonstrate dependability, motivation and show potential for success in reaching their educational goals. The recipient must demonstrate financial need determined by the FAFSA form results and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0.

We Believe – General
This scholarship was established in 1999 and is open to all Iowa Lakes students and is awarded on the basis of financial need determined by the FAFSA form results.

We Believe – Laurene Kay Klepper Memorial – For students with Cancer in family
Established in 2008, the Laurene Kay Klepper (Wycoff) Memorial Scholarship is meant to keep her memory alive while benefiting students at Iowa Lakes Community College who have been touched by cancer during their lives. The cancer diagnosis may have been with the students themselves or an immediate family member (parent, sibling or grandparent). Applicants should complete the cancer summary in the application process. Eligible candidates for this scholarship must be permanent Iowa residents, display financial need by FAFSA form results and use the award for tuition, books and/or fees only.

Woody’s Pizza Inc.
The Woody’s Pizza Inc. Scholarship was established in 1999 by Tony and Jody Condon, owners of Woody’s Pizza Inc. of Estherville. Applicants must attend the Estherville or Emmetsburg campus and be a permanent resident of Palo Alto, Emmet, Dickinson, or Clay counties. Applicants may be enrolled in any Iowa Lakes program while maintaining a 2.0 GPA, displaying community involvement and financial need determined by the FAFSA form results.

Questions or comments? Please email us at or call 712-362-2604 or 800-521-5054.
Copyright © 1996 - 2015 by Iowa Lakes Community College. All rights reserved.